Tattoo or Not Tattoo?

ch5batsI have one tattoo.  Its the Bat symbol and it’s on my left arm. I got it right before the worst Batman movie ever made was released – Batman and Robin.  I am a gigantic fan of the Dark Knight and have been since I was six years old.   I love the idea of a regular human pushing himself to become a superhero.  It’s the kind of thing I like to think I would do if I didn’t like sleeping and sitting down and eating pizza so much.   Anyway, I got a tattoo of the specific version of the Bat Symbol they used to market that horrendous piece of crap movie, “Batman and Robin”.  Sigh. Fifty years of Bat symbols and THATS the one I had drawn on my arm for all eternity. Typical.

When I saw the movie at a special advanced screening for “Extreme Bat Fans” hosted by Warner Brothers (I told you I was a GIGANTIC fan), I actually felt my arm tingle and burn a little bit.  It was as if my skin was actually rejecting it.

If I were ever to get another tattoo, I would probably get the face of the guy from the Pringles Potato Chip can. You know the one; kind of an oval head with an old fashioned curly mustache.  Sorta looks like he belongs in a barbershop quartet.  Is it sad that when I got my first tattoo I chose a heroic symbol of human excellence and some twenty years later as I think about a new one I’m leaning toward a potato chip spokesperson?

I imagine it could be a lot worse.  When I went to NY Comic Con in 2009 I met a young girl with every single character from the Power Puff Girls cartoon tattooed as a sleeve on her right arm.   I am NOT exaggerating. Every. Single. Character. If they were on the screen – they were on her arm. Her arm had no natural skin color at all. It was all pink and neon green and yellow and bat shit crazy.

powerpuffgirlsink

I mean COME ON.  HOW CRAZY IS THAT?  She was YOUNG too – Like 19 or so. I have to believe that she will wake up someday soon (if she hasn’t already) and just start screaming – AHHHHHHHH! WHAT THE HELL??? WHY DID NO ONE STOP ME??? WHY DID NO ONE TALK ME OUT OF THIS OBVIOUS INSANITY!!??!!!  OH MY GOD!!!! WHERE WERE MY PARENTS !!!!

Seriously though I think I want another tattoo.  I actually think I want to draw it myself though. I’m giving serious thought to getting my “Spidey” design tattooed on my right shoulder. I think it would be pretty cool. I’m not ready to commit yet though. Hey if YOU are looking to get a cool tattoo and want to use the Spider Guy design you have my permission! Go right ahead and do it. Send me a picture of it and I’ll post it and tell everyone how cool you are!  I’ll also send you a signed print of it because – hey seems like it’s the least I could do to say thanks.  It might even inspire me to go for it and get the little guy etched into my skin as well! It also might make me realize that it would be a terrible mistake. Either way I’m good with that.

So get this inked on you and send me a picture at calmixx@gmail.com newtatspidey

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in True Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

